Vista Updates Available

09Aug07

Scott Hanselman has a post mentioning that a couple of good Vista updates are available.

Performance Update – I have experienced almost half of the issues mentioned in KB938979. At one point I was using the photo screensaver, but the hanging and crashing when exiting the screensaver caused me to try the Windows Energy screensaver. Then my computer just crashed. And of course dealing with video editing has let me experience the large file moving issues too much. Even emptying the Recycle Bin took forever.

Compatibility Update – I did experience the "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" issue when first booting the computer, but it was fixed when I updated my Nvidia drivers earlier this week.

I’m pretty glad they’re not making us wait for SP1 to get these updates. I think they’ll solve the biggest frustrations I have personally with Vista.

