Why I Like My Job

15Oct07

Over time, I’ve learned to be a little more conscious of the risk of using beta software.  Especially something in CTP.

We’re currently planning an internal virtual machine hosting server, and I was considering Windows Server 2008 Virtualization.  Then I learned from the Virtually Vista blog that the virtualization component available in Server 2008 RC0 is a CTP and will not support upgrading to future beta versions.  I decided that I’ll probably just go with Virtual Server until there’s a beta available.

After deciding this, I was telling my boss/owner that I wasn’t planning on using the virtualization CTP, because there was no upgrade path for it.  He said, "Well, all you would have to do is wipe it out and install the new version, wouldn’t you?"  That’s the kind of "go ahead" I like to receive!

