Multi-targeting Visual Studio 2005/2008 Projects

21Nov07

One of the exciting things I was anticipating in Visual Studio 2008 was the multi-targeting capabilities.  After having to have 2 IDEs installed for a couple of years, my first thought was that I didn’t want another Visual Studio installed.  Then I learned about VS 2008’s ability to work with .Net 2.0 and 3.0 as well as the new 3.5.  I was pretty excited that I wouldn’t have to leave VS 2005 laying around.  (Although I wish I could be rid of 2003 once and for all!)

Today, after installing VS 2008, I tried opening the project I’m currently working on, and I got the dreaded Conversion wizard.  My first thought was "buh… buh… what?"  Before I completely screwed the rest of the office and converted the project before anyone else had upgraded, I did some quick searching to see if everything would still open in VS 2005.  That’s when I found that the problem had already come up early in the beta.  (Mmm… free time for betas.  That’d be nice.)

Rick Strahl has a good post with some diffs.  Apparently only the Solution files are not compatible between VS 2008 and 2005.  The Project files and the rest of the resources will open fine in both (.Net 2.0 and 3.0).  The fix is to have a Solution file for VS 2005 and another for VS 2008.  This wouldn’t be too tough to pull off, but I’m just going to wait until after Thanksgiving when the rest of the office has VS 2008 ready.  (I’d say they’re slow, but they’re actually doing real work.)

