Windows Live Desktop Mail Registry Problems

02Dec07

I decided to try the Windows Live Mail client on my Vista machine, so I installed with the Windows Live Installer from the Live website.  After installation, I tried running it and got a dialog saying “Please wait while Windows configures Windows Live mail.”

image

Every time I ran the application I would get this dialog.  I checked the Application log in the Event Viewer (I have mixed feelings about Vista’s Event Viewer, but it’ll probably make more sense when I start using more Server 2008), and saw a couple of warnings from MsiInstaller with Event IDs 1004 and 1001.  They were complaining about something in the registry:

MsiInstaller Event ID 1004
“Detection of product ‘{184E7118-0295-43C4-B72C-1D54AA75AAF7}’, feature ‘WinMailFeat’, component ‘{7E005D82-ED7A-445F-AD8F-ABCCA42ACBAF}’ failed.  The resource ‘HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareClassesWLMail.Url.Mailto’ does not exist.”

MsiInstaller Event ID 1001
Detection of product ‘{184E7118-0295-43C4-B72C-1D54AA75AAF7}’, feature ‘WinMailFeat’ failed during request for component ‘{5B7A884B-05AC-4645-8CC6-FFA1063BE62F}’

I tried running regedt32 with full privileges (Ctrl-Shift-Enter in the Search box on the Start Menu), and browsed to the registry key mentioned in Event 1004, but I couldn’t access it.  Google led me to the vistax64.com forums, where I found that I could use PsExec to open regedt32 and get access to the registry keys.

Here’s what I did to get Windows Live Mail to startup:

  1. Download PsExec and run psexec.exe -s -i regedt32 from the console.
  2. Browse to the problem registry key (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareClassesWLMail.Url.Mailto in this case).
  3. Right-click on the key and select Permissions…
  4. Click the Add… button
  5. Enter your Windows username and click the OK button.
  6. Select your username in the list.
  7. Check the checkbox in the Allow column next to Full Control.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Open Windows Live Mail!

I’m not sure why this registry key was created without appropriate permissions.  I also had the same “configuring” dialog every time I started iTunes with the key “HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTpcast” showing up in Event 1004.  I’ll have to try out Vista’s Reliability Monitor to see if I can pinpoint the cause.

30 Responses to “Windows Live Desktop Mail Registry Problems”

  1. 1 Elias

    this resolved a 3-year problem..

  2. 2 Joao

    It worked perfectly…
    Thanks a lot!!!

  3. May be you should teach the good Microsoft people how to fix their own software.
    My hat’s off to you.

    Thank you for the post,
    Rick

  4. Using the event viewer was genius, but as for changing the keys, you don’t need an extra program, you just need to take “ownership”. open the permissions dialog and click the advanced button, then click the owner tab and select your user, then all is well.

  5. 5 Dante

    Thk’s for a post, the fix work perfectly. thk’s again. Dante

  6. 6 Yuriy

    Hey Puspen, I have the same problem, but how did you get it fixed? Here is my message: Detection of product ‘{6412CECE-8172-4BE5-935B-6CECACD2CA87}’, feature ‘WinMailFeat’, component ‘{2C57E711-D78F-4008-9502-CC4DB2832354}’ failed. The resource ‘HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\.eml\PersistentHandler\’ does not exist. And that PersistentHandler really does not exist.

  7. 7 Puspen

    Thanks a lot for the solution.I am using Windows 7 (upgraded from Vista) and had the same issue. In my case, the problematic key wasHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\.eml\PersistentHandler

  8. 8 Andy

    Hey, Ted, unfortunately I can’t help much since I never used Live Mail for a Yahoo or POP account. I did find where you can get official help from Microsoft, though, on the Windows Live Help Community page. http://windowslivehelp.com/community/Good luck!`Andy

  9. 9 Ted

    I’ve been using Live Mail with XPSP3 for a quite a while. I liked it, never had any problems and I don’t use Hotmail. I use the Verizon-Yahoo mail server to POP mail into Live mail.I just got a new systen with Vista Home premium. From the start I could not log into Live mail or mail. I get the login popup, but when logging in it vanishes for an few moments and pops up again. I have reinstalled Live Mail and still cannot log in. Messenger and all other Live programs work just fine. A friend who recently upgraded to Vista has the same problem. We both would really like to use Live Mail again.

  10. 10 Craig

    I HATE LIVE MAIL!!!… to remove it what i did was (for vista) go to control panel > programs > uninstall a program > windows live essentials, click uninstall, a window will appear and select the top option then it will transition to another window with a list of options that are affiliated with the LIVE install, i.e. messenger, mail etc… tick mail and click uniinstall….. voila =)

  11. 11 Chris

    Have wasted several hours trying to follow your instructions. The program PsExec is far from self-explanatory and the person who wrote it put the instructions in a site where only computer experts are likely to be members and have paid access. In simple terms, please explain how you use PSExec once you have downloaded it and expanded it to see the contents. I expected to see a black screen where you could type in psex -s -i but no, there was nothing of the kind. And, what is the console to which you refer? I’m sorry but we aren’t all experts…. not yet anyway.

  12. 12 Sjors

    Thx for the advice, M. and Geen Naam: you have to copy psexec.exe to your system32 map (example: c:/ > windows > system32 then go to ‘Uitvoeren’ (don’t know the English one) and type "psexec.exe -s -i regedt32"Than you can follow the rest of the instructions!

  13. 13 Unknown

    Hi,Great blog with interesting informations. I can use it t solve my problem.ThanxM.http://www.vanjobb.hu/

  14. 14 M

    hi, downloaded psexec but how do I run "psexec.exe -s -i regedt32 from the console" as you say??

  15. 15 Dani

    Gracias, gracias, gracias. Funciona perfectamente, eres un crack.

  16. 16 Ryan

    Worked perfectly, thank you!

  17. 17 Jack

    i downloaded psexec how do you run "psexec.exe -s -i regedt32 from the console"

  18. 18 Ben

    YAY!!! Working again on my end everyone! I had the exact same issue, and it is functioning perfectly again.The funny thing, I never found the events in the error logs, but I assumed it certainly couldn’t hurt considering the app didn’t work anyway.THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR INGENUITY!!-Ben

  19. 19 Valter

    Hi there, same problem here, I did every step you told us, but nothing happens, I don’t know what else to do…if you have any answer, please let us know.Thanks

  20. 20 Timothy

    Andy – Thanks millions, saved me a ton of time. It’s too bad I didn’t find your material before wasting 2 hours trying to find the answer at microsoft.com. I find it hard to believe that the monster MS hasn’t repaired an issue as basic as registry permissions, but it is what is is, as they say. Thanks again for sharing.

  21. 21 Duane

    YAY!!!! I just fixed mine. I ran Andy’s tip and nothing happened. I’ve been pulling my hair out since October trying to figure out what the heck the problem was. Finally, as I was reading Andy’s tip again, it dawned on me to try running WLM as Administrator. It worked. <sniff>. I’m so happy now. So, my comment would be to try Andy’s steps and if they work, awesome. If not, run as Admin and perhaps that will help.Good luck!

  22. 22 Mark

    I just wanted to add my "Kudos!" for this tip. This was driving me nuts. In fact, I had gone as far as locating the event entries, but the old eyes glazed over, once I read them. I’m running Vista Ultimate 64-bit SP1. I would have thought that by now MS would have recognized and fixed this problem.
     
    Thanks!
        Mark
    p.s. I haven’t even tried to use WLM, yet. I sure hope it was worth it! 🙂

  23. 23 Anders

    I only get the 1001 event and changing the permissions for ‘HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\WLMail.Url.Mailto\’ does nothing for me 😦
    This issue appeared after i used the Adobe cs3 clean up tool, I also have to run the windows live installer as admin or it will fail with an access denied error.
    If you have a solution it would be greatly appreciated 🙂

  24. 24 Nath

    Brilliant! I never thought i’d get rid of this stupid problem, but you’ve done it! Bravo!

  25. 25 Greg

    I’ve taken almost nine hours, pulled out what’s left of my hair, and have been super stressed. This works! So thank you SO much, you’ve solved what was appearing to be an intractable problem. What the hell is Microsoft up to?

  26. 26 Rich

    well done mate, good tutorial, fixed my issue perfectly!

  27. 27 George

    Andy-Congratulations! You did it. Since December I have been trying to start WLM in Windows Vista Home Premium to no avail—reinstalled, clean boot, etc. plus corresponded with the WLM team—no joy. Then I followed your instructions and presto WLM opened. Works like a charm.
    You need to give your fix wide distribution in the MS forums and save a bunch of poor souls like me who have been tilting at windmills with no help from Microsoft. Wouldn’t you think those high paid engineers could come out with a simple fix like you found.
    Again–many, many thanks.

  28. 28 SC

    Andy,
    You are totally my hero! The amount of times your expert help/tips/suggestions have saved my butt are inumerable!
    And the best thing is that everything I try NEVER works until I follow your instructions!
    Thank you so very much for this info (Windows Live Desktop Mail Registry Problems) it fixed my particular issue which was that I kept having to close Windows Live mail & set the defaults each time I wanted so send an email from a webpage link…..which is several times a day!  Now I’m problem free!
     
    U r da’ man!!

  29. 29 SC

    Andy,
    You are totally my hero! The amount of times your expert help/tips/suggestions have saved my butt are inumerable!
    And the best thing is that everything I try NEVER works until I follow your instructions!
    Thank you so very much for this info (Windows Live Desktop Mail Registry Problems) it fixed my particular issue which was that I kept having to close Windows Live mail & set the defaults each time I wanted so send an email from a webpage link…..which is several times a day!  Now I’m problem free!
     
    U r da’ man!!

  30. 30 Rizki

    Andy, pls help 🙂

    I was havin the same problem and i did your suggestion. But then, nothing is happening. I then decided to change all those entries with WLmail prefix. nothing seems to work. then, i try to uninstall live mail desktop, and suddenly the uninstaller said, I dont have access to uninstall the software???? while my account is administrator :D, this becomes very funny, can you help me out pls…



