Microsoft Office Genuine Advantage KB949810 Breaks Office 2007 – Resolved!

16Apr08

Since I am developing applications for Office, I have enabled "Show add-in user interface errors" in the Advanced options of my Office applications.  Yesterday, I installed KB949810, which was handed down from our WSUS server, which got the update from Microsoft.

Now, whenever I open any Office application, I receive a series of error messages all saying they couldn’t find an Office control.

Error Title: Custom UI Runtime Error in Office Genuine Advantage Add-in
Error found in Custom UI XML of "Office Genuine Advantage Add-in":

Custom UI Runtime Error in Office Genuine Advantage Add-in 

UPDATE/RESOLVED (4/19/2008 9:00AM)

Paul Berg of Microsoft has provided a patch for this issue with OGA.  The patch appears to be working on my system.  The add-in is still running, but I’m not receiving any error messages.  His original post is in the Microsoft forums.

Download and install the appriate language for your system:

English:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/3/0/e30c3edb-df15-4b9b-87da-6d70f91d9a82/OGANotifier_ENU.msi

Spanish:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/3/0/e30c3edb-df15-4b9b-87da-6d70f91d9a82/OGANotifier_ES.msi

Italian:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/3/0/e30c3edb-df15-4b9b-87da-6d70f91d9a82/OGANotifier_ITA.msi

Turkish:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/3/0/e30c3edb-df15-4b9b-87da-6d70f91d9a82/OGANotifier_TRK.msi

Thanks, Paul!

UPDATE (4/18/2008 7:45AM)

The solution I originally posted ended up only being a temporary fix.  Now I receive the same error messages from OGAAddin.  If you’re not a developer and want to hide the error messages, do the following:

  1. Go into the application’s Options (i.e. click the Office Button image and select "Excel Options")
  2. Select "Advanced" from the navigation pane on the left.
  3. Find the "Show add-in user interface errors" checkbox and unselect it.
    clip_image001
  4. Click the OK button.

I was also able to stop the error messages by deleting OGAAddin.dll, but I wouldn’t recommend anyone do that.  It could lead to more problems.  Hopefully Microsoft will let us know soon how to uninstall this add-in that we never should have received.

To stop the error messages, I removed the Office Genuine Advantage Add-in:

  1. Go into the application’s Options (i.e. click the Office Button image and select "Excel Options")
  2. Select "Add-Ins" from the navigation pane on the left.
  3. At the bottom of the Add-ins form, select "COM Add-ins" in the Manage: drop-down, then click "Go…"
    image 
  4. In the COM Add-Ins window, highlight "Office Genuine Advantage Add-in" and click the Remove button. 
  5. Click the Okay button.

For me, this seemed to remove it for all applications, so I didn’t receive the error message.

The default is to not show user interface errors, so unless you turned it on for a reason, you will most likely not see these messages.

5 Responses to “Microsoft Office Genuine Advantage KB949810 Breaks Office 2007 – Resolved!”

  1. 1 K

    Thank you very much, this finally resolved my problem! Kg

  2. 2 Pete
  3. 3 Andy

    I’ve updated the original post with links to patches from Microsoft.
     

  4. 4 Enrike

    I tried the steps to disable the COM add-in and I get this message “The connected state of Office Add-ins registered in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE cannot be changed.
    Any ideas? Thanks you in advance.

  5. 5 Pete

    We had the exact same problem.  I wasn’t getting the error but a coworker was.  We realized she was showing add-in userface errors and I wasn’t.  I turned mine on and instantly received the Custom UI XML errors.  Thanks for the steps on how to disable it.  Add/Remove Programs does not show it anywhere while showing updates, so we were a bit annoyed. 
     
    Much appreciated.  Have a good one.



